my tried/tested/failed and finally nailed chicken curry

This is a dish I can always rely on. I try not to make it too often so I won’t get bored, but I never do! You can serve with rice or just eat as is, it works really well. Don’t be alarmed by the long ingredients list, these are mostly spices and stuff one usually has in stock all the time. If you still don’t, you should make sure you have. A whole world of great food in no time opens up!

IMG_9125

Oil (canola/olive) – 3-4 tbs
Garlic paste – 2 tsp
Ginger paste – 2 tsp
Curry powder – 2 tbs
Cumin seeds – 2 tsp
Red hot chilli powder (optional) – 1 tsp
Chicken, boneless and cubed – app 400 gms
Onion – 1 big
Yoghurt – 1 cup
Tomato pure – 2 tbs
One red bell pepper
Water
Coriander leafs for sprinkling on top

Heat a large saucepan with a thick bottom, and add a few tablespoons of oil, I use canola oil. Saute garlic and ginger a few min in the hot oil. Add the curry powder, cumin and chili powder, and sauté a little bit more. Add the chicken and let it fry for a few minutes.

IMG_9065

Then, add the tomato puree and onion, and cook another 3-5 min. Pour in as much water you want to adjust the consistency and let it all boil up. Replace the lid and simmer for about 5-7 min. Stir in yogurt and shredded bell pepper. Replace the lid and let it cook further for 5-7 mins until the chicken is cooked through. Season with salt and pepper to taste. I honestly did not use salt or pepper, this dish is so full of flavor anyway!

I let it simmer on the end with the lid halfway, spreading the smell in my home...mmm!

I let it simmer on the end with the lid halfway, spreading the smell in my home…mmm!

Garnish with coriander and serve it with rice, salad, bread, or whatever you want 🙂

4 thoughts on “my tried/tested/failed and finally nailed chicken curry

what do you say?

