Low carb chocolate cake

I know, there are a lot of recipes out there, but I wanted to try this now and give a sincere verdict on taste and texture. I’m not anti-sugar or anything, I just wanted to try some new option and to expand my horizon on the healthy cakes world. I’m not even a big cake consumer but it’s good to know what else is out there.

So this is what you need:
100 grams almond flour
150 grams erythritol
100 grams of butter
3 tablespoons dark baking cocoa
3 eggs
2 tsp. baking powder
2 tsp. psyllium husk powder
half cup strong coffee
half cup whole milk

cake

1. Mix baking cocoa, almond flour, psyllium husk powder and baking soda.
2. In another bowl, make fluffy eggs with erythritol. Melt the butter.
3. When the egg mixture is an airy consistency, add the cocoa- and flour mixture.
4. Stir well and then add the coffee and milk little by little while stirring. Also add the melted butter along while stirring well.
5/6. Butter/foil a cake tin with butter and have the dough into it. Put it in the oven at 180 degrees for 30-40 minutes (check along).

IMG_9142

When the bottom is done, allow it to cool slightly before you put on the “icing”, which you easily make by combining these three:
2 cups whipping cream
3 tablespoons. baking cocoa
3 tbsp. powdered erythritol

IMG_9144

This recipe is an alteration/combination of other recipes i have tried/tested, this worked the best. The taste is much like a heavy chocolate bar , creamy and very filling. Also remember almond flour is rich in protein, so it fills you up pretty well. I had a piece four hours ago and I still feel full! (I was planning to open a ben&jerrys, but that’ll have to wait!).

If you are very very addicted to the sugar taste, I must warn you, you may be a bit disappointed. The erythritol does induce the sweet taste, but it doesn’t get really sugary, nor do you get the sugarkick if you may be looking for that. I didn’t mind that, as in combination with chocolate it can be a bit too much sometimes. I’m just saying, so you don’t think I am marketing my cake as an equal opponent the regular, rich chocolate cake with a sugar-icing. ❤

One thought on “Low carb chocolate cake

what do you say?

